(ISC)2 opens nominations for GISLA

The GISLA program, which is sponsored by the (ISC)2 U.S. Government Advisory Board (GAB), was established in 2004 as part of an effort to recognize federal information security leaders whose commitment to excellence is helping to improve federal information security and to advance an in-demand workforce.

“The federal information security workforce is in need of leaders who, despite intense legislative and budgetary challenges, have a vision for a more secure nation and inspire those in the workforce to advance this very important mission”, said W. Hord Tipton, executive director of (ISC)2 and former CIO for the US Department of the Interior. “We consider these leaders some of the government’s greatest cyber assets.”

The timing could not be more apropos given the recent laser-like focus on government cybersecurity. With high-profile hacking of government targets in the headlines, two anti-cyber-espionage bills circulating in Congress and information-sharing initiatives rolling out across federal infrastructure in the wake of President Obama’s February executive order, cyber-security is top of mind.

Awards are given in several categories to recognize individuals and teams whose initiatives in the areas of technology improvement, process/policy improvement, workforce improvement, and federal contractor or community awareness have led to significant improvements in the security posture of a department, agency or the entire federal government.

A nominations committee comprised of senior information security experts from government and industry will review and select winners from the five categories of finalists based upon the selection criteria and eligibility requirements.

The 2013 GISLA judges read like a laundry list of heavy-hitters: Steven Hernandez, CISO, Office of Inspector General, Department of Health and Human Services; Ray A. Letteer, chief of the Cybersecurity Division of the Command, Control, Communications and Computer (C4) Department at Headquarters, US Marine Corps; Charles “Chuck” McGann, corporate ISO, US Postal Service; Marc H. Noble, director of government affairs for (ISC)2; Robert “Rocky” E. Young, director of cybersecurity, Information Assurance, Outreach (CIAO) and Mobile Security Division, Defense-Wide Information Assurance Program (DIAP), Identity and Information Assurance Directorate (IIA)-DoD Chief Information Officer, Office of the Secretary of Defense; Dara Gordon Murray, director of IT security for the program support center, US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS); Art Friedman, senior strategist for the Enterprise Engineering Office, National Security Agency; and Jerry G. Ormaner, CIO, CISM, senior information technology project manager, operations services staff, U.S. Department of Justice.

The submission deadline for nominations is August 2, 2013. (ISC)2 officials, sponsors, and others will honor the 2013 GISLA recipients at a gala dinner and awards ceremony on October 29 in the Washington D.C. metro area.


What’s Hot on Infosecurity Magazine?