Share

Rick Robinson

Job title:
CTO and vice president, eSoft

Areas of expertise:
Applied cryptography, PKI, identity and access management (authentication, authorization, and auditing), secure data transport, and system hardening and protection

Biography:
Rick Robinson has over ten years of experience in the computer security sector, including development of secure embedded computers, secure remote access, secure networking design, and secure system architecture. Throughout his career, he has regularly worked with Fortune 500 customers, providing security strategy and guidance. Robinson is a recipient of the prestigious Avaya Labs Cup Award and has been named on four USPTO patents in the area of computer security with additional USPTO application submissions in process. He possesses CISSP and ISSAP certifications from (ISC)2. In addition, he is an IEEE Senior Member, Past-Chair of the IEEE-Denver Section, Member of IEEE Security and Privacy Society, Member of the IEEE Computer Society, and Member of the IEEE Critical Infrastructure Protection Committee. Robinson holds BS and MS degrees in electrical engineering from Montana State University with an emphasis in computer engineering, and is completing his Executive MBA from the University of Colorado.

Tag Cloud

Bloggers

Blog

CoolerEmail Hit by Phishing Scam

CoolerEmail is notifying customers of a new phishing scam used to steal login credentials. The web based email marketing programme carries an impressive client list including Walmart, Toyota, Pepsi and dozens of other big name brands. Any phished credentials can be used to impersonate these companies in additional phishing or malicious emails.

If you’ve been victimised by this phishing scam, change your password immediately at the CoolerEmail website.

The fraudsters use a classic phishing 'hook' and present a very real looking email, complete with company letterhead. The email reports a recent software upgrade and asks users to follow a link in order to confirm their account details.


 
The disguised link suggests the user will connect directly to the cooleremail.com website. However, the link actually connects to cooleremail1.com – a domain setup by cybercriminals specifically for the phish. More information is available on the eSoft ThreatCenter Blog.

CoolerEmail has sent out a warning notice to customers and stated that they would never ask for confirmation of account details. Always be wary of emails containing any type of link or asking to update account information. If there is any doubt, contact the sender to verify the legitimacy of the email.

Posted 13/11/2009 by Rick Robinson

Tagged under:Phishing,Web Security

Comment on this blog

You must be registered and logged in to leave a comment about this blog.