Share

Rick Robinson

Job title:
CTO and vice president, eSoft

Areas of expertise:
Applied cryptography, PKI, identity and access management (authentication, authorization, and auditing), secure data transport, and system hardening and protection

Biography:
Rick Robinson has over ten years of experience in the computer security sector, including development of secure embedded computers, secure remote access, secure networking design, and secure system architecture. Throughout his career, he has regularly worked with Fortune 500 customers, providing security strategy and guidance. Robinson is a recipient of the prestigious Avaya Labs Cup Award and has been named on four USPTO patents in the area of computer security with additional USPTO application submissions in process. He possesses CISSP and ISSAP certifications from (ISC)2. In addition, he is an IEEE Senior Member, Past-Chair of the IEEE-Denver Section, Member of IEEE Security and Privacy Society, Member of the IEEE Computer Society, and Member of the IEEE Critical Infrastructure Protection Committee. Robinson holds BS and MS degrees in electrical engineering from Montana State University with an emphasis in computer engineering, and is completing his Executive MBA from the University of Colorado.

Tag Cloud

Bloggers

Blog

Virus Alert! Twitter, Google, Hallmark and Others Subject To Attack

The eSoft Threat Prevention Team is warning customers today of a new email scam circulating very quickly.  These fraudulent emails claim to be from Google Staffing, Hallmark, Twitter as well as other social networks and legitimate businesses.

The email persuades the user to open the attached zip file to find out more information. Users that follow through and open the file infect their own system and become part of the threat.

The very legitimate looking email below is just one example of the scam.  The email uses the actual Google logo downloaded directly from their website and easily hooks you into opening the attached file to find out more.
 




 

In this case, the downloader infected the system with a bot that immediately begins spewing thousands more of infected emails, including fake e-cards from Hallmark, and invitations from social networks like Twitter and Hi5. 
 
The Twitter email is also very well crafted to make the user believe they were invited by a friend and is legitimately from Twitter. The from address is spoofed to invitations@twitter.com with a subject “Your friend invited you to Twitter!”. The body of the message begs the user to open the attached file – “To join or see who invited you check the attachment”. Using this clever social engineering tactic the scammers are able to peak interest in finding out who may have sent them the message. The user is tricked into opening the attachment and infecting their system.
 
As always, be very cautious opening any attachments and especially cautious when they are unexpected. When in doubt verify with the sender or do not open them.

Posted 05/03/2010 by Rick Robinson

Tagged under:virus,bot,spam

Comment on this blog

You must be registered and logged in to leave a comment about this blog.